Peak PS5 release date: October 22, 2026

The Peak PS5 release date is October 22, 2026. Developers Aggro Crab and Landfall announced that day for all three consoles: PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2, with crossplay between every platform and all the content added since the game's PC debut. Insider Gaming quoted the announcement as saying Peak is "(finally) coming to consoles on OCTOBER 22ND."

That is a short wait. The announcement landed on October 15, 2026, so console players get a one-week runway. Push Square noted the PS5 version arrives digitally on the PlayStation Store in both the US and Europe on the same day, and that the game carries an ESRB E10+ rating.

What Peak is, and why consoles waited this long

Peak is a co-op climbing game where, in the words of its Steam page, "the slightest mistake can spell your doom." You play a lost nature scout stranded on an island and the only way out is up the mountain at its centre, solo or with a group of up to four. It launched on PC through Steam on June 16, 2025 and became one of those games that spread through friend groups, Discord servers and Twitch streams. Game Informer calls it a "friendslop" game, a term it notes is debated but that fans use affectionately.

The console gap is the interesting part. Peak was a PC-only success for well over a year, long enough for the developers to ship several large updates. That timing matters for the launch, because it means console players do not get an early build and a patch roadmap. They get the finished, updated game on day one.

“The console version is fully featured, with all content updates included at launch.”

Push Square, quoting the console announcement, October 2026

Crossplay and content: what the console versions include

Both Insider Gaming and KeenGamer report that the console versions include all current content updates, naming Gloom, Mesa and Roots as examples. Game Informer's wording is broader: "all content updates, biomes, and new items the game has received since launch," plus custom mountain runs. Push Square adds that the console version offers full cross-platform multiplayer.

In practice that means a PS5 player can climb with a friend on Xbox, Switch 2 or the existing PC audience. Gematsu's listing says multiplayer is friends-only, so crossplay is about joining people you know rather than matchmaking with strangers. The core loop stays the same across platforms: four biomes, proximity chat, scavenged food and climbing items, injuries that sap stamina, and a mountain layout that rotates every 24 hours.

Peak console price and the PS5 physical edition

Pricing is where the sources thin out. The announcement coverage from Game Informer, Insider Gaming and KeenGamer does not state a console price. One outlet, Altchar, reports the digital version at $6.99. We could not confirm that against a platform store page, so treat it as a single-source figure until the PlayStation Store, Xbox and Nintendo listings show it. For comparison, the Steam price on October 17, 2026 is $7.99.

The physical edition is a PS5 release. Gematsu lists it at $19.99, €19.99 or £14.99, containing the game disc, a passport kit and a Buddy Code that gives a friend one extra copy. Skybound Games distributes it. Altchar gives a December 9 date for the physical release, but Push Square says no date has been set, so that date is also unconfirmed. If you want the disc, the safest assumption is that it lands after the digital launch, not with it.

How big Peak actually is

The scale explains why a console port is news. Push Square reports Peak has sold more than 10 million copies since its June 2025 launch. Steam's own review summary, checked on October 17, 2026, shows 307,400 reviews across all languages, 290,823 of them positive, which works out to about 94.6% and a Very Positive rating. We cannot reconcile that with Push Square's separate count of 146,500 Overwhelmingly Positive reviews, which may be a language-filtered figure, so use the Steam page itself for the live number.

Either way, this is a title that sold on a $7.99 price and word of mouth rather than a marketing budget. A console release puts it in front of audiences who never opened Steam, and the Switch 2 version in particular gives the game a portable home, which suits short climbing sessions.

What to check before launch day

Three things are worth confirming on October 22. First, the actual digital price on your platform, since only one source has quoted $6.99. Second, whether your platform's store lists the console version under the plain name Peak or as a Console Edition, a label Push Square used in its coverage. Third, the physical edition date, if you want the disc.

The bigger question is how the port handles the thing that made Peak work: a rotating mountain, sudden hazards and a group of friends shouting over proximity chat. The sources describe tornadoes, poison clouds and zombies as hazards on the way up, and a map that reshuffles every 24 hours, so no two daily climbs are the same. That design should translate to a controller, but a controller is not a mouse, and the Switch 2 version in particular will be judged on how smoothly it holds up with four players. Nothing in the announcement coverage gives performance targets, so any claim about frame rates before launch would be guesswork.

None of this changes the headline answer. If you searched for the Peak PS5 release date, it is October 22, 2026, and the game arrives complete rather than as an early port. We have not played the console builds, and this report is based on the announcement coverage and the Steam store page.

Frequently asked

What is the Peak PS5 release date?

Peak launches on PS5 on October 22, 2026, as a digital release on the PlayStation Store in the US and Europe, according to Push Square. The same date applies to Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2. Developers Aggro Crab and Landfall announced the date on October 15, 2026, with full crossplay across all platforms and all content updates included at launch. A PS5 physical edition is listed for pre-order at select retailers, but its release date has not been confirmed by every source.

Is Peak coming to Xbox and Switch 2?

Yes. Game Informer, Insider Gaming and Gematsu all report that Peak launches on Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2 on October 22, 2026, the same day as the PS5 version. The console editions support crossplay with each other and with the PC version, and they include the content updates released since the June 16, 2025 PC launch. Multiplayer is friends-only, so you join people you know rather than strangers.

How much will Peak cost on PS5?

The announcement coverage from Game Informer, Insider Gaming and KeenGamer does not state a console price. Altchar reports the digital version at $6.99, but that is a single-source figure we could not confirm against a store page. On Steam, Peak costs $7.99 as of October 17, 2026. The PS5 physical edition is listed by Gematsu at $19.99, which includes a disc, a passport kit and a Buddy Code for a friend.

Does Peak have crossplay between consoles and PC?

Yes. Push Square reports that the console version offers full cross-platform multiplayer, and Insider Gaming says console players can play with friends across platforms. Multiplayer is friends-only according to Gematsu's listing, so crossplay means joining people you already know. You can climb with up to four players total and use proximity chat, which makes mixed-platform groups practical on launch day.

Will the console version of Peak include all the updates?

Yes. Game Informer says the console versions include "all content updates, biomes, and new items the game has received since launch," plus custom mountain runs. Insider Gaming and KeenGamer name Gloom, Mesa and Roots as examples of the updates included. That means console players start with the same content PC players have now, rather than an early build that needs catching up with patches later.

Is there a Peak physical edition for PS5?

Yes. Gematsu lists a PS5 physical edition at $19.99, €19.99 or £14.99, containing the game disc, a passport kit and a Buddy Code that gives a friend one extra copy. Skybound Games distributes it, and pre-orders are open at select retailers. Altchar gives a December 9 release date, while Push Square says no date has been set, so the date remains unconfirmed.